Government of India Ministry of Railways (Railway Board)

RBE No. 147

No.2018-E(SCT)I/25/9

New Delhi, dated 21.12.2023

The General Managers (P), All Indian Railways & Production Units.

## Sub:- Reservation in promotions- procedure to be followed prior to effecting reservations in the matter of promotions by all departments of the Central Government.

Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions (Deptt. of Personnel & Training) vide ID Note No. 36028/3/2022-Estt(Res.I) dated 21.11.23 has issued certain clarification, in reference to Secretary Directorate's ID Note No ERB-I/2023/14/32(E) dated 07.11.23. The operative part of the said clarification is quoted as under:

"In this regard, it is stated that in Sabharwal judgment, Hon'ble Supreme Court has stated that reserved category candidates can compete for non-reserved post and in the event of appointment to the said post their number cannot be added or taken into consideration for working out the percentage of reservation. The aforesaid instructions were reiterated by the Hon'ble Supreme Court in Jarnail Singh judgment.

".....However, as stated by the Hon'ble Court, so long as the instructions/Rules providing certain percentage of reservations for the backward classes are operative, the same have to be followed and despite any number of appointment/promotees belonging to the backward classes against the general category posts, the given percentage has to be provided in addition."

"Ministry of Railways is therefore advised to follow the Hon'ble Supreme Court judgements in cases of R K Sabharwal and Jarnail Singh i.e. reserved category candidates can compete for non-reserved post and in the event of their appointment to the said post, their number cannot be added or taken into consideration for working out the percentage of reservation".

The above quoted clarification of DOP&T may please be brought to the notice of all concerned for information and strict compliance.

(Manoj Kumar)

Exec. Dir./Estt.(Resvn.) Railway Board Tele No. 011-23047176 Mail Id: <u>ederes.rb@gmail.com</u> ......2/-

## Copy to:

- 1. Liaison Officers for SC, ST and OBC of All Indian Railways/ Production Units.
- 2. The General Secretary, AIRF, Room No. 253, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 3. The General Secretary, NFIR, Room No. 256-E, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 4. The Members of National Council, Departmental Council and Secretary, Staff Side, National Council, 13-C, Ferozeshah Road, New Delhi
- 5. The Secretary General, FROA, Room No. 256-A, Railway Board.
- 6. The Secretary, RBSS Group 'A' Officer's Association.
- 7. The Secretary, RBSS Group 'B' Officers' Association.
- 8. The Secretary General, IRPOF, Room No.268, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 9. The Secretary, Railway Board Class II Officers' Association.
- 10. The Secretary, Railway Board Ministerial Staff Association.
- 11. The Secretary, Railway Board Group D Employees Association.
- 12. The General Secretary, AIRPF Association Room No.256-D, Rail Bhawan.
- General Secretary, All India SC/ST Railway Employees Association, Room No.7, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 14. The General Secretary, All India OBC Railway Employees Federation, Room No.48, GF, Rail Bhawan.
- 15. Chief Commissioner Railway Safety, Lucknow.
- 16. Chief Administrative Officer, MCF/Raebareli Project, Kishanganj, Delhi-7.
- 17. The Secretary, Railway Board Promotee Officers Association, Room No. 341-C, Rail Bhawan.
- 18. The GMs, N.F. Railway (Const.), CAO, SR(Const.) and CR(Const.).
- 19. The Director General & ex-officio General manager, R.D.S.O/Lucknow.
- 20. The General Manager, and FA&CAO/Metro Railway/Kolkata.
- 21. The CAO and FA&CAO/COFMOW/New Delhi.
- 22. The General Manager, and FA&CAO/CORE/ Allahabad.
- 23. The Director General, National Academy of Indian Railways, Vadodara
- 24. The Directors, IRISET, Secunderabad/IRIMEE, Jamalpur/ IRIEEN, Nasik/IRICEN, Pune and CAMTECH, Gwalior.
- 25. The CAO(Const.), MTP (R), Mumbai & Chennai.
- The Chairman & Managing Director/Managing Director, RITES/IRCON/ CONCOR/KRCL/ IRFC/ RCIL/KMRCL/ RVNL/DFCCIL/ BCL/BSCL/ BWEL/ MRVC/IRCTC.
- 27. The Chairman, Railway Recruitment Board: Allahabad/ Ahmadabad/ Ajmer/Bangalore/ Bhopal/ Bilaspur / Bhubaneswar/ Kolkata/Chandigarh/ Chennai/Gorakhpur/ Guwahati/ Jammu & Srinagar /Malda/ Mumbai/Muzaffarpur/Patna/Ranchi/ Secunderabad /Thiruvananthapuram.
- 28. The Chief Project Administrator (Telecom), IRCOT Consultancy, Shivaji Bridge, New Delhi.
- 29. The Director (Movement) Railways, Kolkata.
- 30. The General Secretary, IRCA, DRM Office Complex, State entry road, New Delhi.
- 31. Managing Director, Centre for Railway Information System,
- 32. Vice Chairman, Rail Land Development Authority.
- Chief Admn Officer, Indian Railways Organization for Alternative Fuels, 12<sup>th</sup> Floor, Core-I, SCOPE Minar, District Centre, Laxmi Nagar, New Delhi -110092.
- 34. Office of Chief Administrative Officer, Indian Railways (Workshop Projects), Chamber Bhawan, Judge's Court Road, Anta Ghat, Patna-800001, Bihar.
- 35. The Joint Director (Iron & Steel), 3 Koilaghat Street, Kolkata.
- 36. The Secretary, Railway Claims Tribunal, Chennai.
- 37. The Railway Liaison Officer, Jeevan Tara Building, Parliament Street, New Delhi.

Copy to: PS to MR, PS to MOSR(J), PS to MOSR(D), Adviser/MR, EDPG/MR, EDPG/MOSR(J), EDPD/MOSR(D), OSD/MR, OSD/Co-ord/MR

## PSO/Sr.PPS/PPSs/PPS/PS/PA to:

CRB & CEO,MF, M/Infra M(TRS), M(OBD), Secretary/Rly.Bd., DG/RPF, DG/RHS, Adv(MR), OSD(MR), OSD(Co-ord)/MR & Additional PS/MR.

AM(Comml), AM(CE), AM(C&IS), AM(Elect.), AM (Budget), AM(E), AM(ME), AM(Plg.), AM(PU), AM(Tele), AM(Sig), AM(Store), AM(T), AM(TT), PED(Bridge), PED(Stn.Dev.Engg.), AM(Works), AM(F), AM(Staff), Adv(Infra), Adv.(IR), Adv.(Project), PED(Vig.), Adv (C), Adv.(T&MPP), Adv. (Health), PED(Safety), Adv.(Transformation), Adv.(F), Adv.(Project), Legal Adviser, PED (Signal).

EDE(N), EDCE(G), EDE(G), ED(A), EDF(E), EDE(Safety), EDE(RRB), EDE(GC), EDE, EDV(A), ED(PSU), EDE(Sports), EDE(E&R), EDE(IR), EDH(G), EDPC-I, EDPC-II, EDF(BC), ED(ERP), EDPG, Chairman/HRRC, JS, JS(G), JS (E), JS(C), DE(W), DE(MPP), DE(G), DE(GP), DE(LL), DME(C&IS), JDF(E), JDE(N), JDE(Rep), JDPG, DDF(E)-I,II&III, DDE(R)-II, DDE (LR)-I & II,&III, DD(Sec/E), DD(Sec/ABE), DD E(P&A)I & E(P&A)II, E(G), E(NG)I & II, E(Trg), E(MPP), A/C-III, ERB-I, ERB-II, ERB-III, ERB-IV, ERB-V & ERB-VI, E(Rep)I, E(Rep)-II & E(Rep)-III, E(Sports), E(W), Sec(E), FE-I,II&III, FE(SpI), E(RRB), PC-III, PC-IV, PC-VI, PC-VI, E(SCT)II, E(GR) I & E(GR)-II, E(GC), E(GP), E (Welfare)-1,II&III, E(D&A), E(Co-op), PR, E(D&A), E(LR)-I,II&III, Code Revision Cell/ Branches of Railway Board.

\*\*\*\*\*