Railway Minister Announces Cash Award to Felicitate Railway Sportspersons for Winning Medals at CWG-2014

Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Railways
11-August-2014 17:21 IST

Railway Minister Announces Cash Award to Felicitate Railway Sportspersons for Winning Medals at CWG-2014, Glasgow

To felicitate the Indian Railway sportspersons who won medals at recently concluded Commonwealth Games-2014, (CWG) at Glasgow, Scotland, the Minister of Railways Shri D.V.Sadananda Gowda has announced a cash award of Rs. 25 lakh for winning Gold Medal, Rs. 20 for Silver Medal and Rs. 15 lakh for winning Bronze Medal. The contribution of Railway sportspersons, as a part of Indian contingent in CWG, has been significant. Out of total 64 Medals won by India, Railway players bagged 9 Medals. The performance of Railway weightlifters and wrestlers in particular has been remarkable. They have contributed two Gold, one Silver and two Bronze Medals.

The names of the Gold Medal winners are – Shri Sushil Kumar: Men’s freestyle 74 kg wrestling, Shri Satish Sivalingam: Men’s 77 kg weightlifting, Silver Medal winners are Shri Mandeep Jangra: Men’s 69 kg boxing. Shri Chinglensana Singh: Hockey, Ms. Ayonika Paul: Women’s 10 metre air rifle shooting, Shri Rajeev Tomar: Men’s freestyle 125 kg wrestling and Bronze Medal winners are- Ms. Pinki Rani: Women’s 48-51 kg boxing, Ms. Swati Singh: Women’s 53 kg weightlifting, Shri Omkar Otari: Men’s 69 kg weightlifting.

Stay connected with us via Facebook, Google+ or Email Subscription.

Subscribe to Central Government Employee News & Tools by Email [Click Here]
Follow us: Twitter [click here] | Facebook [click here] Google+ [click here]