HomeFin Min Order

Small Savings Schemes Interest Rate for fourth quarter of F.Y. 2018-19 w.e.f 01.01.2019 to 31.03.2019 – DoEA Order

Small Savings Schemes Interest Rate for fourth quarter of F.Y. 2018-19 w.e.f 01.01.2019 to 31.03.2019 – DoEA Order dated 31.12.2018

Government of India
Ministry of Finance
Department of Economic Affairs
(Budget Division)
North Block, New Delhi
Dated: 31.12.2018

Subject: Revision of interest rates for Small Savings Schemes.

The undersigned is directed to refer to this Department’s OM of even number
dated 16th February, 2016, vide which the various decisions taken by the Government regarding interest
fixation for small savings schemes were communicated to all concerned.
2. On the basis of the decision of the Government, interest rates for small
savings schemes are to be notified on quarterly basis. Accordingly, the rates of interest on various small
savings schemes for the fourth quarter of financial year 2018-19 starting 1st January, 2019, and ending on
31st March, 2019, on the basis of the interest compounding / payment built-in in the schemes, shall be as under: 

Rate of interest w.e.f. 01.10.2018 to 31.12.2018

Rate of interest w.e.f. 01.01.2019 to 31.03.2019
Compounding Frequency*
Saving Deposit 4.0 4.0 Annually
1 Year Time Deposit 6.9 7.0 Quarterly
2 Year Time Deposit 7.0 Quarterly
3 Year Time Deposit 7.2 Quarterly
5 Year Time Deposit 7.8 7.8 Quarterly
5 Year Recurring Deposit 7.3 7.3 Quarterly
5 Year Senior Citizen Savings Scheme 8.7 8.7 Quarterly and Paid
5 Year Monthly Income Account 7.7 7.7 Monthly and paid
5 Year National Savings Certificate 8.0 8.0 Annually
Publilc Provident Fund Scheme 8.0 8.0 Annually
Kisan Vikas Patra 7.7 (will mature in 112 months) 7.7 (will mature in 112 months) Annually
Sukanya Samriddhi Account Scheme 8.5 8.5 Annually
*No Change
3. This has the approval of Finance Miniter.
(Akhilesh Kumar Mishra)
Tele: 01123095024
1. The Secretary

Department of Expenditure

North Block, New Delhi.
2. The Secretary

Department of Revenue

North Block, New Delhi.
3. The Secretary

Department of Posts

Dak Bhawan

New Delhi
4. The Secretary

Department of Financial Services, Jeevan Deep


Parliament Street, New Delhi.
5. Chief General Manager

Department of Govt. & Bank Accounts

Reserve Bank of India

Central Office, Mumbai.
6. Reserve Bank of India

Central Account Section

Additional Office Section

East High Court Road

Nagpur – 440 001.
7. Chief Secretaries of States/UT Governments. 8. The Director

National Savings Institute, New Delhi.
revised interest rates for small saving scheme 4th qtr 2018 19

Source: DoEA (Click to view/download signed pdf)