HomeCadre Restructuring

ICAR Technical Cadre – Approval of New Designation

Krishi Bhawan, Dr.Rajendra Prasad Road, New Delhi – 110114

F.No.19 (20)/2011-Estt.IV 

Dated 22nd July, 2013
The Technical Services were introduced in ICAR w.e.f. 1975. The Technical Services are grouped into three categories consisting of eight grades which are being denoted by their grade numbers viz. T-1, T-2, T-3….. T-7-8, T-9. The technical employees have been representing that they may be given suitable designations instead of the grade numbers such as T-1, T-2 etc.
The issue of giving suitable designations to the eight grades of Technical cadre viz. T-1 to T-9 was under consideration of the Council. It has now been decided with the approval of the Competent Authority that the following designations may be given to the technical employees of the Council:

Existing Grade Existing pay band and pay scale in Rs. Grade pay (Rs.) New designation as approved by the Competent Authority
T-1 PB-1 5200-20200 2000 Technician
T-2 PB-1 5200-20200 2400 Sr.Technician
T-3 PB-1 5200-20200 2800 Technical Assistant
T-4 PB-2 9300-34800 4200 Sr.Technical Assistant
T-5 PB-2 9300-34800 4600 Technical Officer
T-6 PB-3 15600-39100 5400 Sr.Technical Officer
T-7-8 PB-3 15600-39100 6600 Assistant Chief Technical Officer
T-9 PB-3 15600-39100 7600 Chief Technical Officer
For the purpose of identification of duties performed by different functionaries, designations of the person will be appropriately distinguished to reflect duties attached to the posts. For example, a post of Laboratory Technician in T-2 grade may be denoted as Sr.Technician(Lab Technician). The change of designation does not give any entitlement to any enhanced pay or perk. Further, this change shall also not entail any change in existing chain of command or basis for refusal to perform an assigned function.
Deputy Secretary (TS)

Source : www.icar.org.in