Medical Benefits for Construction Workers Under ESI Scheme

Medical Benefits for Construction Workers Under ESI Scheme

Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Labour & Employment
09-December-2015 17:34 IST

Medical Benefits for Construction Workers Under ESIS

The covered labourers of establishments covered under ESI Act, 1948, working on the construction sites in ESI notified areas can avail medical benefits under the Employees State Insurance Scheme.

They and their family members are eligible for primary, secondary and Super Specialty treatment subject to fulfilling the contributory conditions.

Unorganized Workers’ Social Security Act, 2008 (UWSS Act) has been enacted to cover workers in the unorganized sector including a worker in the organized sector who is not covered by any of the Acts mentioned in Schedule II to this Act, namely(i) The Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923 (8 of 1923), (ii) The Industrial Disputes Act, 1947 (14 of 1947), (iii) The Employees’ State Insurance Act, 1948 (34 of 1948), (iv) The Employees’ Provident Funds and Miscellaneous Provision Act, 1952 (19 of 1952), (v) The Maternity Benefit Act, 1961 (53 of 1961) and The Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972 (39 of 1972). The UWSS Act, 2008 provides for formulation of suitable welfare schemes for unorganized workers on matters relating to: (i) life and disability cover, (ii) health and maternity benefits, (iii) old age protection and (iv) any other benefit as may be determined by the Central Government through the National Social Security Board. Various Schemes, formulated by the Government to provide social security cover to the unorganized workers, listed in the Schedule I of the above Act are as under:
i. Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme. (Ministry of Rural Development)
ii. National Family Benefit Scheme. (Ministry of Rural Development)
iii. Janani Suraksha Yojana. (Ministry of Health and Family Welfare)
iv. Handloom Weavers’ Comprehensive Welfare Scheme (Ministry of Textiles)
v. Handicraft Artisans’ Comprehensive Welfare Scheme (Ministry of Textiles)
vi. Pension to Master Craft Persons. (Ministry of Textiles)
vii. National Scheme for Welfare of Fishermen and Training and Extension. (Department of Animal Husbandry, Dairying & Fisheries)
viii. Janshree Bima Yojana (Department of Financial Services)
ix Aam Aadmi Bima Yojana (Ministry of Labour and Employment)
x. Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana (Ministry of Health and Family Welfare)”.
This information was given by Shri Bandaru Dattatreya,the Minister of State (IC) for Labour and Employment in reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today.


Stay connected with us via Facebook, Google+ or Email Subscription.

Subscribe to Central Government Employee News & Tools by Email [Click Here]
Follow us: Twitter [click here] | Facebook [click here] Google+ [click here]