No Curtailing of Public Holidays for government employees

No Curtailing of Public Holidays for government employees
Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions

12th March 2015

No Curtailing of Public Holidays 

       As per the existing policy, the Central Government Administrative Offices observe up to 17 holidays in a year on specified occasions which consist of 3 National Holidays (on 26th January, 15th August and 2nd October) and 14 other holidays to celebrate festivals of different regions/religion in a diverse country like India.

At present there is no proposal under consideration of the Government to curtail the public holidays for government employees.
This was stated by the Minister of State for Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions and Minister of State in Prime Minister’s office Dr. Jitendra Singh in a written reply to a question by Shri S. Thangavelu in the Rajya Sabha today.

Stay connected with us via Facebook, Google+ or Email Subscription.

Subscribe to Central Government Employee News & Tools by Email [Click Here]
Follow us: Twitter [click here] | Facebook [click here] Google+ [click here]