Revised VDA on Minimum Wages for Mines Workers w.e.f 1st October 2022


Revised VDA on Minimum Wages for Mines Workers w.e.f 1st October 2022

Revised VDA on Minimum Wages for Mines Workers w.e.f 1st October 2022

File No. 1/16(3)/2021-LS-II
Government of India
Ministry of Labour & Employment
Office of the Chief Labour Commissioner(C)
New Delhi

Dated 28/09/2022


In exercise of the powers conferred by Central Government vide Notification No. S.O.2413(E) dated 28th July, 2017 of the Ministry of Labour and Employment the undersigned, hereby, revises the rates of Variable Dearness Allowance on the basis of the average Consumer Price Index for Industrial workers reaching 365.76 from 357.65 as on 30.06.2022 (Base Year 2016-100) and thereby resulting in an increase of 8.11 points. The revised Variable Dearness Allowance as under shall be payable from 01.10.2022:-

Rates of Variable Dearness Allowance for employees employed in employments in Gypsum Mines, Barytes Mines, Bauxite Mines, Manganese Mines, China Clay Mines, Kyanite Mines, Copper Mines, Clay Mines, Magnesite Mines, White Clay Mines, Stone Mines, Steatite Mines (including the mines producing Soap Stones and Talc), Ochre Mines, Asbestos Mines, Fire Clay Mines, Chromite Mines, Quartzite Mines, Quartz Mines, Silica Mines, Graphite Mines, Felspar Mines, Laterite Mines, Dolomite Mines, Red Oxide Mines, Wolfram Mines Iron Ore Mines, Granite Mines Rock Phosphate Mines, Hematite Mines, Marble and Calcite Mines, Uranium Mines, Mica Mines, Lignite Mines, Gravel Mines, Slate Mines and Magnetite Mines.

Category of worker Rates of V.D.A. (in Rs.) per day
For work above ground For work below ground
Unskilled 127 158
Semi-Skilled / Unskilled Supervisory 158 188
Skilled Clerical 188 219
Highly Skilled 219 243

Therefore the minimum rates of wages showing the basic rates and Variable Dearness Allowance Payable w.e .f. 01.10.2022 will be as under:-

Category of worker Rates of wages including V.D.A. (in Rs.) per day
For work above ground For work below ground
Unskilled 350+127=477 437+158=595
Semi-Skilled/ Unskilled Supervisory 437+158=595 523+188=711
Skilled / Clerical 523 +188=711 610+219=829
Highly Skilled 610 +219=829 683+243=926

The VDA has been rounded off to the next higher rupee as per the decision of the Minimum Wages Advisory Board.

The classification of workers under different categories will be same as in Part-1 of the notification, whereas classification of cities will be same as in the Part-II of the notification dated 19th January, 2017. The present classification of cities into areas A , B & C is enclosed at Annexure I for ready reference.

(Remis Tiru)
Chief Labour Commissioner(C)

Previous: Revised VDA on Minimum Wages w.e.f 1st April 2022 for Mines Worker: Supersession Order dtd 29.07.2022


  1. Revised VDA on Minimum Wages for Watch and Ward Duties with and without Arms w.e.f 1st October 2022

  2. Revised VDA on Minimum Wages for Agriculture Workers w.e.f 1st October 2022

  3. Revised VDA on Minimum Wages for Construction & Maintenance Workers w.e.f 1st October 2022

  4. Revised VDA on Minimum Wages for Loading and unloading Workers of Railways, Docks, Ports etc. w.e.f 1st October 2022

  5. Revised VDA on Minimum Wages for Sweeping and Cleaning Worker w.e.f 1st October 2022

  6. Revised VDA on Minimum Wages for Industrial Workers of Stone Mines w.e.f 1st October 2022




Ahmedabad (UA) Hvderabad (UA) Faridabad complex (M.Corpn)
Bangaluru (UA) Kanpur (UA) Ghaziabad (UA)
Delhi (UA) Chennai (UA) Noida
Greater Mumbai (UA) Nagpur (UA) Secunderabad
Kolkata (UA) Lucknow (UA) Gurgaon (M. Corpn)
Navi Mumbai (UA) Pune (UA)


Agra (UA) Gwalior (UA) Port Blair (UA)
Ajmer (UA) Hubli-Dharwad (M. Corpn) Puducherrv (UA)
Aligarh (UA) Indore (UA) Rajpur (UA)
Allahabad (UA) Jabalpur (UA) Raurkela (UA)
Amravati (M.Coron) Jaipur (M.Coron) Raikot (UA)
Amritsar (UA) Jalandhar (UA) Ranchi (UA)
Asansol (UA) Jalandhar-Cantt. (UA) Saharanpur (M.Corpn)
Aurangabad (UA) Jammu (UA) Salem (VA)
Bareilly (UA) Jamnagar (UA) Sangli (UA)
Belgaum (UA) Jamshedpur (UA) Shillong
Bhavnagar (UA) Jhansi (UA) Siliguri (UA)
Bhiwandi (UA) Jodhpur (UA) Solapur (M .Corpn)
Bhopal (UA) Kannur (UA) Srinagar (UA)
Bhubaneshwar (UA) Kochi (UA) Surat (UA)
Bikaner (M.Corpn) Kolhapur (UA) Thiruvanantapuram (UA)
Bokaro Steel City (UA) Kollam (UA) Thrissur (UA)
Chandigarh (UA) Kota (M.Coron) Tiruchirapalli (UA)
Coimbatore (UA) Kozhikode (UA) Triuppur (UA)
Cuttack (UA) Ludhiana (M.Coron) Ujjain (M.Corpn)
Dehradun (UA) Madurai (UA) Vadodara (UA)
Dhanbad (UA) Malappuram (UA) Varanasi (UA)
Durgapur (UA) Malegaon (UA) Vasai- Virar City (M.Corpn)
Durg-Bhilai Nagar (UA) Mangalore (UA) Vijayawada (UA)
Erode (UA) Meerut (UA) Vishakhapatnam (M.Corpn)
Firozabad Moradabad (M. Corpn) Warangal (UA)
Goa Mysore (UA)
Gorakhpur (UA) Nanded Waghala (M. Corpn)
Greater Visakhapatnam (M.Corpn) Nasik (UA)
Gulbarga (UA) Nellore (UA)
Guntur (UA) Panchkula (UA)
Guwahati (UA) Patna (UA)
Note 1.-Area ‘C’ shall comprise all areas not mentioned in this list but to which the Minimum Wages Act, 1948 ( 11 of 1948) extends.
Note 2.- U.A. means Urban Agglomeration.



Click to view/download PDF